St. Paul’s Lutheran Church began its ministry in 1841 after local residents, eager to build a conveniently located union church for Lutheran and Reformed parishioners, purchased 2 acres of land midway between Fleetwood and Walnuttown. In 1921 the two congregations began worshipping weekly at St. Paul’s Chapel on the site of the former Fleetwood Post Office. The chapel offered necessary heating and lighting and was more conveniently located than the Union Church.
In 1952, with significant building repairs looming, the two churches made the decision to separate and each built their own facility. In 1956, Lutheran members processed from the chapel to East Arch Street for the groundbreaking at the future site of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church. The building was completed and dedicated in 1957. The Reformed Church merged with the Congregational Christian Churches to form the United Church of Christ and St. Paul’s UCC members moved to their new building on West Arch Street in 1958.
St. Paul’s Lutheran Church is an active, vibrant congregation committed to building people – developing totally devoted disciples of Jesus Christ through worship, prayer and service.